Arcade Fire Release New Single: Electric Blue

With their fifth studio album set to be released on the 28th of July, art-rockers Arcade Fire have given us yet another sample of what to expect from ‘Everything Now’. “Summer’s gone and so are you” starts off ‘Electric Blue’ – the third track released thus far. Whilst summer isn’t gone and we’re still soaking up the sun’s rays, the song has a timeless feel to it that will suit any season or mood. “If you, the journalist, need something specific to say about it, try something like, ‘It’s the sound of Arcade Fire at the dawn of something new, gorgeously unsure if they’re ready for morning to come,’” the band stated in an email to their fans. So, that being said, at the dawn of something new, Arcade Fire also described the track as “either a gorgeous celebration of longing or a swirling aural hangover cure.” Recorded in Sundragon Studios in NYC, ‘Everything Now’ highlights the producing talents of Thomas Bangalter of Daft Punk, Geoff Barrow of Portishead, bassist Steve Mackey of Pulp, and Markus Dravs, the latter of whom has co-produced Arcade Fire’s last three studio releases. Currently on tour in Europe and set to headline Lollapalooza in August, Win Butler and co. have a string of North American dates lined up for the fall with established names such as Angel Olsen, Broken Social Scene, Phantogram, and Wolf Parade. Check out the music video for ‘Electric Blue’ below, featuring member Régine Chassagne strolling the post-Mardi Gras trash-strewn streets of New Orleans with colorful plastic beads galore.

Sarah Medeiros

Music Writer

A music obsessive with side interests in everything under the sun, but particularly: herbalism, nutrition, literature, and travel. Possessor of a completely healthy compulsion to listen to every Queen album on a bi-weekly basis.